How to chill when you are incredibly nervous.

Hey you guys! So, right now I’m insanely nervous. I’m hiding out in a corner of the school having a mild breakdown because I have a presentation. I’m not great at talking in front of people about academic things – how does one science? Am I science-ing correctly? Are they judging my p-values and whispering about my best-fit lines?

And so I thought it would be a good idea to take a few seconds to remind us all how to CALM DOWN a little when our hearts start racing and we feel all dizzy.

  1. breathe breathe breathe. in and out.
  2. close your eyes and take a brain break – pretend you are somewhere else
  3. listen to Budapest by George Ezra
  4. think about how great you will feel once your presentation/test/other quest is accomplished – you have to climb that mountain somehow but the “grass is greener on the other side” right? right.
  5. breathe some more. right now just exhale

You can do this. I believe in you! Goodluck and I hope that you feel less nervous right now.

