Hello everyone! Recently I was made aware by the Rubicon staff of a little thing called superfoods. Honestly, I kind of dismissed them as a health fad, and I generally try to avoid those here on Good for You. However, I’ve been doing a little bit of poking around, and I am a connoisseur of various grains, so I would like to rate for you today my favorite foods that also happen to be superfoods.

Before we begin, we should all be on the same page about what a superfood actually is. A superfood is ostensibly a food that is exceptionally healthy or rich in nutrients, though this term is more often used by companies trying to sell you things than it is by food scientists. However, it certainly doesn’t hurt you to eat foods that are filled with good stuff. I would like to impart upon you my wisdom of the superfoods I love.

First: kidney beans. No discussion about it. I have a bean dinner at least once a week, which is when my parents aren’t home so I heat up a can of beans and have it for dinner. It is full of protein and it is the best thing ever. My friends bully me relentlessly about bean dinner, but it is worth it.

Second, I would recommend blackberries. Berries are pumped with antioxidants, and blackberries pack a very fun punch. They’re tart and super juicy. I have to consider blueberries as a runner-up in the berries category because they are such a lovely fruit. I like it when they are small and ripe with just a hint of tartness.

Third: fish! Holy moly, I love fish. This is also a controversial take, but I do not think I would be able to live without fish. Fish is a scrumptious, light meat AND it is rich in protein and omega-3s, which is great for heart health! My favorite fish dishes are salmon and walleye because I am a good old fashioned Minnesotan. Of course, grilled fish is healthier, but treating yourself to a walleye fry once in a while is not a problem.

Finally, I would like to put in a good word for tomatoes. Tomatoes are high in vitamin C and lycopene, which reduces the risk of certain cancers. Also, I find that anyone who hates tomatoes is kind of a loser. Ripe red tomatoes are genuinely one of the best things on earth. Sometimes I have a bowl of baby tomatoes for a snack and it heals my soul a little.

So, there’s my primer on superfoods and a few of my favorites. I know this post is a little messy and a little off the cuff, but it is tech week for the musical so I hope you’ll all bear with me. Thank you!

Source: Harvard Health Publishing

Fair Use Image from Wikimedia Commons